“When You Trap a Tiger” by Tae Keller is winner of the 2021 John Newbery Award for outstanding contribution to children’s literature, and “We Are Water Protectors,” illustrated by Michaela Goade and written by Carole Lindstrom, won the Randolph Caldecott medal for most distinguished American picture book for children.

These awards and others, the most prestigious in children’s literature, were announced today by American Library Association Youth Awards at the ALA’s virtual midwinter meeting in Chicago.

Minnesota author David LaRochelle and illustrator Mike Wohnoutka won the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for beginning picture book for “See the Cat: Three Stories About a Dog,” and Minnesotan Gretchen Anthony’s “The Kids Are Gonna Ask”  was among 10 winners of Alex Awards for best adult books that appeal to teen audiences. “Miriam At the River” by Jane Yolen, published by Kar-Ben Publishing, a division of Minnesota-based Lerner Publishing Group, is a Silver Medalist in the picture book category of the Sydney Taylor awards for outstanding books that authentically portray the Jewish experience.

Coretta Scott King African American awards went to author Jacqueline Woodson for “Before the Ever After,” and illustrator Frank Morrison for “R-E-S-P-E-C-T: Aretha Franklin, the Queen of Soul.”

Pura Belpre Awards, honoring a Latinx writer and illustrator whose books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience, went to author Yamile Saied Mendez for “Furia” in the young adult category, and “Efren Divided” by Ernesto Cisneros in the children’s division. The illustrator award went to Raul Gonzalez for “iVamos! Let’s Go Eat.”

Asian/Pacific American Awards were won by Julie Leung and illustrator Chris Sasaki in the picture book category for “Paper Son: The Inspiring Story of Tyrus Wong, Immigrant and Artist,” and the children’s category winner is “When You Trap a Tiger” by Tae Kelle.

Stonewall Book Award — Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature award for portraying the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience went to Archaa Shrivastav for “We Are Little Feminists: Families,”

Daniel Nayeri’s “Everything Sad is Untrue (a true story)” won the Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in writing for young adults.

For the complete list of winners and honor books go to ala.unikron.com.