Eight Ohio authors – or authors who write about Ohio subjects – have been honored with the 2021 Ohioana Book Awards.

The awards, first given in 1942, are among the oldest state literary prizes in the nation.

The awards ceremony, tentatively planned to be an in-person event, is scheduled for Oct. 14 in the atrium of the Ohio Statehouse.

The winners:

Fiction: Carter Sickels for “The Prettiest Star,” in which the main character returns to the small Ohio town and the family that had rejected him.

Nonfiction: Aimee Nezhukumatathil, “World of Wonders: In Praise of Fireflies, Whale Sharks, and Other Astonishments,” a collection of essays about the natural world.

About Ohio or an Ohioan: Carole M. Genshaft, editor, “Raggin’ On: The Art of Aminah Brenda Lynn Robinson’s House and Journals,” written to accompany the large exhibit of works by Robinson at the Columbus Museum of Art.